Titanfield and Battlefall!

Hello, my Lads and Lasses! It’s Bamster back with a long-overdue update on my gaming experiences! With the end of semester stresses that accompany attending school, my availability to write on my gaming experiences shrunk more and more. But with the semester wrapping up I’m able to focus more on my gaming life!

Today I want to reflect on two of EA’s biggest releases of the past year. Both were on sale recently on the Xbox marketplace, so Tmack and I decided to invest in them and give them a try. The first game we tried was Battlefield 1. Battlefield 1 throws the player into the throws of WWI. The game opens with a playable and intense introduction sequence that is meant to describe the brutality of that war by surrounding you with endless waves of enemies. This intensity carries right over into the multiplayer experience. No matter the game mode you choose to play, there is really only death awaiting you. From getting shot in a heated firefight, getting run over by a tank (sometimes right after you spawned…), or getting sniped from across the map (did you even mean to hit me?), it seems that the only thing waiting for you in this heated war game is death. Even those tiny satisfactory moments in which you’re able to get a kill (or maybe two) are quickly erased by the quick death you experience immediately afterward. It’s not like you’re the only one dying out there either. Having played the medic role more often than not, I’ve seen countless players run out to make a difference, die, get revived by me, and then die again mere seconds later. What can make matters even worse is that once your team starts losing, it can be very difficult to regain any kind of advantage. You’re pushed back to a single spawn point, and while it is possible to go around and capture another point, too often the attacks you attempt are disjointed and only result in more death. The game tries to compensate for this by giving you some kind of behemoth super weapon to turn the tides in your favor, but even that doesn’t always shift the tide as much as one would like. It is, frankly, rough and unforgiving action.

After playing Battlefield 1 for a few weeks, Titanfall 2 had free to play days on the Xbox, so Tmack and I gave it a try and quickly realized we needed to buy this game right away. Released around the same time, Titanfall 2 is a much different multiplayer experience. First, rather than there being two teams of 20 or more, there’s usually only 5 or 6 players per team. This is not to say that these 5-6 players are the only ones present on the map; typically there are auto-generated ground troops that, while easy to kill, can do some damage if left ignored. Second, the movement is much faster, versatile and fluid. Rather than just sprinting for what feels like an eternity to find a single enemy (who promptly bayonet charges you before you can aim), you can sprint, slide, wall ride, and grapple across the map with ease. The act of executing every action is easy to learn, but doing them to gain advantage takes planning and perfect implementation. Third, rather than a giant behemoth that requires 8 players to be fully operational, players get to pilot their very own Titan, a giant robot with insane firepower. Titans can easily swing the battle in any direction, making the lead greater than it already is or trimming the gap to make it a closer game. Finally, while the game is much faster paced and requires a lot more technical skill, it is much easier to feel like you’re making a difference. Sure, I still tend to die a lot, but when I die seems much more in my control. If I’m outflanked or simply outplayed, I can watch what they did and learn from my mistakes to get better and contribute even more. There are still games where I feel incompetent, but even in those games, I can at least do a little of something.

As I’m sure you’ve gathered, I enjoy(ed) Titanfall 2 much much more than Battlefield 1. I found Battlefield 1’s combat so chaotic that it was hard ever to find a groove in the game. Titanfall, by comparison, was much easier to access and contribute to from the very beginning. That said, part of Battlefield 1’s emphasis was on the chaotic destruction brought on by war, so in this regard, Battlefield did really well. To be fair, I have played very little of either game’s single player campaign. My thoughts are strictly based on a few hours of multiplayer action. I recognize that my impression of each game may change based on the campaign or on more time invested into each multiplayer, but I also think first impressions are important for analyzing a game. All in all, if I had to recommend one, I would definitely suggest Titanfall 2 over Battlefield 1. Titanfall just feels more innovative and less like a repainted version of previous Battlefield games (or even the new Battlefront for that matter). So pick up your copy today and enjoy the experience of being a pilot!

With summer now here, I hope to be able to produce more reflections on the gaming world than I have recently. So stay tuned for some game reviews, because I have many games to play through! Did my experience of Battlefield and Titanfall line up with yours? Did I miss something crucial about either game? Do you have any recommendations for game reviews? Let me know in the comments below! As always, thanks for reading! Stay average my lads and lasses!

Leave a Reply

